phillynsa.blogg.se

Ibert flute concerto program notes sample
Ibert flute concerto program notes sample






Unfortunately, he had to resign after a year due to ill health (Timlin, 1. 5, he was appointed the director of the Assembly of National Lyric Theaters. Jacques IbertĬharles De Gaulle summoned him. Paris and take refuge in Antibes, southern France. Because of his opposition to the German occupation of France, the Vichy Government banned his music in 1. Instead, he prided himself again on that characteristic independence and reverted back to the ideas of the Classical and Baroque eras, preserving his country’s more traditional styles. World War I, where he initially was a nurse and then as a naval officer stationed at Dunkirk.Īfter the war, Ibert never joined any of the modern musical movements that were popular during his time. On the belief that composition was his calling, he attended the Paris Conservatoire until he was drafted in 1. He was much more interested in improvisation than in practicing endless scales, and would play wrong chords just to experiment. This character trait appeared at a young age, when he first studied piano. Ibert was a composer who could be distinguished as independent. Having done this, I am optimistic that I have made a recording that comes as close as possible to realizing his intentions. When preparing to perform a work, a musician should research the composer and his or her compositional style. He left behind numerous works in nearly every contemporary musical genre (Rapp, 2. Concerto for Flute by Jacques Ibert.įrench composers of the last century. Ibert: Escales, Flute Concerto, Paris, Bacchanale. I also plan on performing more works by Ibert in the future and having this information will be valuable in pursuing that goal. Armed with this knowledge, I can better educate my students about any piece by Ibert or how to go about learning the background of a composer and discovering their compositional style. Learning about the research process taught me the valuable skills of how to research a composer and apply the knowledge I gained to my flute playing. Going beyond performing the piece and deeply researching the composer in comparison to others of his time significantly shaped how I interpreted the piece. This January, I will be performing and studying in Santa Barbara, California with Jill Felber of the University of California Santa Barbara and Marianne Gedigian of the University of Texas at Austin. This past summer, I was accepted to study flute performance at the music festival Saarburger Serenaden in Saarburg, Germany and study with my current professor Dr. I have been accepted to perform at the Wildacres Flute Retreat for the past four years to study with the world- renowned flute player, G. I am a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, a Golden Key Scholar, and hold an executive position in the service organization Sigma Alpha Iota. I am a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars, a Golden Key Scholar, and hold an.








Ibert flute concerto program notes sample